Double Masters Zendikar Rising
103.2a
If a player is using a sideboard (see rule 100.4) or cards being represented by checklist cards (see rule 713), those cards are set aside before shuffling.
103.2a
If a player is using a sideboard (see rule 100.4) or cards being represented by substitute cards (see rule 713), those cards are set aside before shuffling.
107.1b
Most of the time, the Magic game uses only positive numbers and zero. You can’t choose a negative number, deal negative damage, gain negative life, and so on. However, it’s possible for a game value, such as a creature’s power, to be less than zero. If a calculation or comparison needs to use a negative value, it does so. If a calculation that would determine the result of an effect yields a negative number, zero is used instead, unless that effect doubles or sets to a specific value a player’s life total or a creature’s power and/or toughness.
107.1b
Most of the time, the Magic game uses only positive numbers and zero. You can’t choose a negative number, deal negative damage, gain negative life, and so on. However, it’s possible for a game value, such as a creature’s power, to be less than zero. If a calculation or comparison needs to use a negative value, it does so. If a calculation that would determine the result of an effect yields a negative number, zero is used instead, unless that effect doubles or sets to a specific value a player’s life total or the power and/or toughness of a creature or creature card.
107.3e
If a spell or ability refers to the {X} or X in the mana cost, alternative cost, additional cost, or activation cost of another object, any X in that spell or ability’s text uses the value of X chosen or defined for the other object.
111.11
A copy of a permanent spell becomes a token as it resolves. The token has the characteristics of the spell that became that token. The token is not “created” for the purposes of any replacement effects or triggered abilities that refer to creating a token.
120.9
If an ability triggers on damage being dealt by a specific source or sources, and the effect refers to the “damage dealt,” it refers only to the damage dealt by the specified sources and not to any damage dealt at the same time by other sources.
202.3a
The converted mana cost of an object with no mana cost is 0, unless that object is the back face of a double–faced permanent or is a melded permanent.
202.3a
The converted mana cost of an object with no mana cost is 0, unless that object is the back face of a transforming double–faced permanent or is a melded permanent.
202.3b
The converted mana cost of a double–faced permanent’s back face is calculated as though it had the mana cost of its front face. If a permanent is a copy of the back face of a double–faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double–faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.
202.3b
The converted mana cost of a transforming double–faced permanent’s back face is calculated as though it had the mana cost of its front face. If a permanent is a copy of the back face of a transforming double–faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double–faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.
206.3
Previously, a spell or ability that affected cards from a particular set checked for that set’s expansion symbol. These cards have received errata in the Oracle card reference to say they affect cards “with a name originally printed” in a particular set. See rule 700.8 for details.
206.3
Previously, a spell or ability that affected cards from a particular set checked for that set’s expansion symbol. These cards have received errata in the Oracle card reference to say they affect cards “with a name originally printed” in a particular set.
604.3
Some static abilities are characteristic–defining abilities. A characteristic–defining ability conveys information about an object’s characteristics that would normally be found elsewhere on that object (such as in its mana cost, type line, or power/toughness box) or overrides information found elsewhere on that object. Characteristic–defining abilities function in all zones. They also function outside the game.
604.3
Some static abilities are characteristic–defining abilities. A characteristic–defining ability conveys information about an object’s characteristics that would normally be found elsewhere on that object (such as in its mana cost, type line, or power/toughness box). Characteristic–defining abilities can add to or override information found elsewhere on that object. Characteristic–defining abilities function in all zones. They also function outside the game.
607.1b
An ability printed on either face of a double–faced card (see rule 711) is considered to be “printed on” that object for these purposes, regardless of which face is up.
607.1b
An ability printed on either face of a transforming double–faced card (see rule 711) is considered to be “printed on” that object for these purposes, regardless of which face is up.
608.3b
If the object that’s resolving is a copy of a permanent spell, that object becomes a token permanent and is put onto the battlefield under the control of the spell’s controller. It is no longer a copy of a spell. The token put onto the battlefield this way is not “created” for the purposes of any replacement effects or triggered abilities that refer to creating a token.
613.7g
A double–faced permanent receives a new timestamp each time it transforms.
613.7g
A transforming double–faced permanent receives a new timestamp each time it transforms.
700.8
Some cards refer to cards with a name originally printed in a particular set.
700.8
Some cards refer to the number of creatures in a player’s party. A player’s party consists of up to one creature that player controls for each of the following four creature types: Cleric, Rogue, Warrior, and Wizard.
700.8a
The calculation of the number of creatures in a player’s party is performed automatically by the game and results in a number between zero and four. Players don’t declare which specific creatures they control are in their party.
700.8b
If a creature has multiple creature types for which it could be the party member, it is counted as the party member for only one of those types. If there are different ways to count such a creature that results in different numbers of creatures in a player’s party, it is counted in such a way to get the highest result.
700.8c
A player has a full party if there are four creatures in that player’s party.
701.28a
To transform a permanent, turn it over so that its other face is up. Only permanents represented by double–faced cards can transform. (See rule 711, “Double–Faced Cards.”)
701.28a
To transform a permanent, turn it over so that its other face is up. Only permanents represented by transforming double–faced cards can transform. (See rule 711, “Double–Faced Cards.”)
701.28c
If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent that isn’t represented by a double–faced card, nothing happens.
701.28c
If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent that isn’t represented by a transforming double–faced card, nothing happens.
701.37c
If an effect instructs a player to meld cards that can’t be melded, they stay in their current zone.
701.37c
If an effect instructs a player to meld objects that can’t be melded, they stay in their current zone.
706.10f
Some effects copy a permanent spell. As that copy resolves, it ceases being a copy of a spell and becomes a token permanent. (See rule 608.3b.)
711.1
A double–faced card has a Magic card face on each side rather than a Magic card face on one side and a Magic card back on the other. Each face may have abilities that allow the card to “transform,” or turn over to its other face. Tokens and cards with a Magic card back can’t transform. (See rule 701.28, “Transform.”)
711.1
A double–faced card has a Magic card face on each side rather than a Magic card face on one side and a Magic card back on the other. There are two kinds of double–faced cards. Transforming double–faced cards include abilities on one or both of their faces that allow the card to “transform” (turn over to its other face) or allow the card to enter the battlefield “transformed” (with its back face up). Modal double–faced cards have two faces that are independent from one another and can’t transform.
711.1a
A double–faced card’s front face is marked by a front–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins® and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a modified Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad™ block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich of the Krallenhorde in the Eldritch Moon™ set, the front–face symbol is a sun. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a full moon. On Ixalan™ and Rivals of Ixalan™ cards, the front–face symbol is a compass rose.
711.1a
A transforming double–faced card’s front face is marked by a front–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins® and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a modified Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad™ block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich of the Krallenhorde in the Eldritch Moon™ set, the front–face symbol is a sun. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a full moon. On Ixalan™ and Rivals of Ixalan™ cards, the front–face symbol is a compass rose.
711.1b
A double–faced card’s back face is marked by a back–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a full Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich, Uncontested Alpha in the Eldritch Moon set, the back–face symbol is a crescent moon. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a stylized image of Emrakul. On Ixalan and Rivals of Ixalan cards, the back–face symbol is a land icon.
711.1b
A transforming double–faced card’s back face is marked by a back–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a full Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich, Uncontested Alpha in the Eldritch Moon set, the back–face symbol is a crescent moon. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a stylized image of Emrakul. On Ixalan and Rivals of Ixalan cards, the back–face symbol is a land icon.
711.1c
If the back face of a double–faced card is a creature, the front face of that card will have the back face’s power and toughness printed in gray above the power and toughness box. This is reminder text and has no effect on game play.
711.1c
The front face of a transforming double–faced card whose back face is a creature has the back face’s power and toughness printed in gray above the power and toughness box. This is reminder text and has no effect on game play.
711.1d
A modal double–faced card’s front face is marked by a front–face symbol in its upper left corner. The front–face symbol is a single black triangle inside a sideways teardrop.
711.1e
A modal double–faced card’s back face is marked by a back–face symbol in its upper left corner. The back–face symbol is two white triangles inside a sideways teardrop.
711.1f
Each face of a modal double–faced card includes a hint bar in the lower left corner with information about the opposite face. This is reminder text and has no effect on game play.
711.3
Players must ensure that double–faced cards in hidden zones are indistinguishable from other cards in the same zone. To do this, the owner of a double–faced card may use completely opaque card sleeves or substitute a checklist card (see rule 713). Sanctioned tournaments have additional rules for playing with double–faced cards. See rule 100.6.
711.3
Players must ensure that double–faced cards in hidden zones are indistinguishable from other cards in the same zone. To do this, the owner of a double–faced card may use completely opaque card sleeves and/or a substitute card (see rule 713). Sanctioned tournaments have additional rules for playing with double–faced cards. See rule 100.6.
711.4a
While a double–faced card is outside the game or in a zone other than the battlefield or stack, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
711.4b
While a transforming double–faced spell is on the stack or a transforming double–faced permanent has its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
711.4b
While a double–faced permanent’s back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double–faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double–faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.
711.4c
While a transforming double–faced permanent has its back face up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. If a permanent is copying the back face of a transforming double–faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double–faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.
711.4d
While a modal double–faced spell is on the stack or a modal double–faced permanent is on the battlefield, it has only the characteristics of the face that’s up.
711.5
Only permanents represented by double–faced cards can transform. (See rule 701.28, “Transform.”) If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform any permanent that isn’t represented by a double–faced card, nothing happens.
711.5
Only permanents represented by transforming double–faced cards can transform. (See rule 701.28, “Transform.”) If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform any permanent that isn’t represented by a transforming double–faced card, nothing happens.
711.7
If a transforming double–faced card is cast as a spell, it’s put on the stack with its front face up. A player casting a modal double–faced card as a spell chooses which face they are casting before putting it onto the stack. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
711.7a
Only the face that will be face up on the stack is evaluated to determine if it can be cast. Only that face is considered to be put onto the stack.
711.8
A resolving transforming double–faced spell is put onto the battlefield front face up. A resolving modal double–faced spell that becomes a permanent is put onto the battlefield with the same face up that was face up on the stack.
711.9
A double–faced card put onto the battlefield from a zone other than the stack enters the battlefield with its front face up by default.
711.9a
If a spell or ability puts a transforming double–faced card onto the battlefield “transformed,” it enters the battlefield with its back face up. If a player is instructed to put a card that isn’t a transforming double–faced card onto the battlefield transformed, that card stays in its current zone.
711.8a
If a player is instructed to put a card that isn’t a double–faced card onto the battlefield transformed, that card stays in its current zone.
711.9b
If a player is instructed to put a modal double–faced card onto the battlefield and its front face isn’t a permanent card, the card stays in its current zone.
711.10
If an effect allows a player to cast a double–faced card as a face–down creature spell, or if a double–faced card enters the battlefield face down, it will have the characteristics given to it by the rule or effect that caused it to be face down. That card remains hidden, using a face–down substitute card (see rule 713) and/or opaque sleeves. See rule 707, “Face–Down Spells and Permanents.”
711.9a
While face down, a double–faced permanent can’t transform. If it is turned face up, it will have its front face up.
711.10a
While face down, a transforming double–faced permanent can’t transform. If it’s turned face up, it will have its front face up.
711.11
A double–faced card that is exiled face down remains hidden, using either a face–down checklist card or opaque sleeves. See rule 713, “Checklist Cards.”
711.12
A double–faced card that is exiled face down remains hidden, using a face–down substitute card and/or opaque sleeves. See rule 713, “Substitute Cards.”
711.12
When a double–faced permanent transforms, it doesn’t become a new object. Any effects that applied to that permanent will continue to apply to it after it transforms.
711.13
When a transforming double–faced permanent transforms, it doesn’t become a new object. Any effects that applied to that permanent will continue to apply to it after it transforms.
712.1b
A meld card isn’t a double–faced card. It can’t transform or enter the battlefield transformed. (See rule 711, “Double–Faced Cards.”)
712.1b
A meld card isn’t a double–faced card. Its back face can’t be cast or put onto the battlefield, and it can’t transform or enter the battlefield transformed. (See rule 711, “Double–Faced Cards.”)
711.4a
While a double–faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
712.3a
While a meld card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
712.6
Meld cards in a player’s deck may be represented by checklist cards. See rule 713, “Checklist Cards.”
712.6
Meld cards in a player’s deck may be represented by substitute cards. See rule 713, “Substitute Cards.”
711.7
If a double–faced card is cast as a spell, it’s put on the stack with its front face up. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
712.7
If a meld card is cast as a spell, it’s put on the stack with its front face up. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
711.8
A double–faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up by default. If a spell or ability puts it onto the battlefield “transformed,” it enters the battlefield with its back face up.
712.8
A meld card enters the battlefield with its front face up unless it’s being melded with its counterpart.
711.9
If an effect allows a player to cast a double–faced card as a face–down creature spell, or if a double–faced card enters the battlefield face down, it will have the characteristics given to it by the rule or effect that caused it to be face down. That card remains hidden, using either a face–down checklist card or opaque sleeves. See rule 707, “Face–Down Spells and Permanents.”
712.9
If an effect allows a player to cast a meld card as a face–down spell, or if a meld card enters the battlefield face down, it will have the characteristics given to it by the rule or effect that caused it to be face down. That card remains hidden, using either a face–down substitute card or opaque sleeves. See rule 707, “Face–Down Spells and Permanents.”
713.1
A checklist card is a game supplement that can be used to represent a double–faced card or meld card.
713.1
A substitute card is a game supplement that can be used to represent a double–faced card or meld card. A substitute card has a normal Magic card back.
713.2
A checklist card has a normal Magic card back. The face of a checklist card is divided into sections. Each section lists the name and mana cost of each double–faced card or meld card it could represent and includes a fill–in circle. Before a checklist card can be used, exactly one of the fill–in circles must be marked to denote which card the checklist card represents.
713.2
Each substitute card must clearly indicate the name of at least the front face of the card that it represents. Other information from the printed card (e.g. card type, mana cost, and power and toughness) may also be written on the substitute card.
713.2a
Some substitute cards list the names and mana costs of the cards they can represent. Exactly one of the fill–in circles must be marked to denote which card the substitute card represents. This style of substitute card was found in Magic products that released 2011–2018.
713.2b
Some substitute cards represent one specific listed card. This style of substitute card was found in the Core Set 2019 release, and it represents the card Nicol Bolas, the Ravager.
713.2c
Some substitute cards can represent any modal double–faced card. These substitute cards include the front–face and back–face symbols on the front face of the card. To use one of them, write in the name of each face of the card it represents. This style of substitute card is found in the Zendikar Rising release.
713.3
If a checklist card is used in a deck, the card it represents is set aside prior to the beginning of the game (see rule 103.2a) and must remain available throughout the game. A checklist card can’t be included in a deck unless it is representing a double–faced card or a meld card.
713.3
If a substitute card is used in a deck, the card it represents is set aside prior to the beginning of the game (see rule 103.2a) and must remain available throughout the game. A substitute card can’t be included in a deck unless it is representing a double–faced card or a meld card.
713.4
For all game purposes, the checklist card is considered to be the card it’s representing.
713.4
For all game purposes, the substitute card is considered to be the card it’s representing.
713.5
If the checklist card is face up in a public zone, it should be set aside and the double–faced card or meld card that it represents should be used instead.
713.5
If the substitute card is face up in a public zone, it should be set aside and the double–faced card or meld card that it represents should be used instead.
721.2i
If a merged permanent contains one or more double–faced cards (see rule 711), transforming that permanent causes each of those double–faced cards to turn so that its other face is up.
721.2i
If a merged permanent contains one or more transforming double–faced cards (see rule 711), transforming that permanent causes each of those double–faced cards to turn so that its other face is up.