Adventures in the Forgotten Realms Innistrad: Midnight Hunt
201.5
Some versions of Ikoria™: Lair of Behemoths cards and other promotional cards feature a name other than their own in the upper left corner, with their normal name in a secondary title bar below it. These cards have only the card name specified in the secondary title bar, not the name printed where a card’s name would normally appear. That name is considered flavor text and has no effect on game play.
201.5
Some versions of Ikoria®: Lair of Behemoths cards and other promotional cards feature a name other than their own in the upper left corner, with their normal name in a secondary title bar below it. These cards have only the card name specified in the secondary title bar, not the name printed where a card’s name would normally appear. That name is considered flavor text and has no effect on game play.
202.3b
The mana value of a transforming double–faced permanent’s back face is calculated as though it had the mana cost of its front face. If a permanent is a copy of the back face of a transforming double–faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double–faced card), the mana value of that permanent is 0.
202.3b
The mana value of a transforming double–faced permanent or spell’s back face is calculated as though it had the mana cost of its front face. If a permanent or spell is a copy of the back face of a transforming double–faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double–faced card), the mana value of the copy is 0.
300.1
The card types are artifact, conspiracy, creature, enchantment, instant, land, phenomenon, plane, planeswalker, scheme, sorcery, tribal, and vanguard.
300.1
The card types are artifact, conspiracy, creature, dungeon, enchantment, instant, land, phenomenon, plane, planeswalker, scheme, sorcery, tribal, and vanguard.
502.2
Second, if it’s day and the previous turn’s active player didn’t cast any spells during that turn, it becomes night. If it’s night and the previous turn’s active player cast two or more spells during that turn, it becomes day. If it’s neither day nor night, this check doesn’t happen and it remains neither.
502.2a
Multiplayer games using the shared team turns option use a modified rule. If it’s day and no player on the previous turn’s active team cast a spell during that turn, it becomes night. If it’s night and any player on the previous turn’s active team cast two or more spells during the previous turn, it becomes day. If it’s neither day nor night, this check doesn’t happen and it remains neither.
502.2
Second, the active player determines which permanents they control will untap. Then they untap them all simultaneously. This turn–based action doesn’t use the stack. Normally, all of a player’s permanents untap, but effects can keep one or more of a player’s permanents from untapping.
502.3
Third, the active player determines which permanents they control will untap. Then they untap them all simultaneously. This turn–based action doesn’t use the stack. Normally, all of a player’s permanents untap, but effects can keep one or more of a player’s permanents from untapping.
601.2h
The player pays the total cost. First, they pay all costs that do not involve random elements or moving objects from hidden zones to public zones in any order. Then they pay all remaining costs in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.
601.2h
The player pays the total cost. First, they pay all costs that don’t involve random elements or moving objects from the library to a public zone, in any order. Then they pay all remaining costs in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.
603.12
A resolving spell or ability may allow or instruct a player to take an action and create a triggered ability that triggers “when [a player] [does or doesn’t]” take that action or “when [something happens] this way.” These reflexive triggered abilities follow the rules for delayed triggered abilities (see rule 603.7), except that they’re checked immediately after being created and trigger based on whether the trigger event or events occurred earlier during the resolution of the spell or ability that created them. If the trigger event or events occur multiple times during that time, the reflexive triggered ability will trigger once for each of those times.
603.12
A resolving spell or ability may allow or instruct a player to take an action and create a triggered ability that triggers “when [a player] [does or doesn’t]” take that action or “when [something happens] this way.” These reflexive triggered abilities follow the rules for delayed triggered abilities (see rule 603.7), except that they’re checked immediately after being created and trigger based on whether the trigger event or events occurred earlier during the resolution of the spell or ability that created them.
603.12a
Normally, if the trigger event or events occur multiple times during the resolution of the spell or ability that created it, the reflexive triggered ability will trigger once for each of those times. However, if a resolving spell or ability includes a choice to pay a cost “any number of times” and creates a triggered ability that triggers “when [a player] pays [that cost] one or more times,” paying that cost one or more times causes the reflexive triggered ability to trigger only once.
607.2e
If an object has an ability printed on it that allows some information to be noted and another ability which refers to information noted for that object, those abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to information noted as a result of the first ability.
607.2p
If a permanent spell has an ability printed on it that allows cards to be exiled while paying a cost to cast it and the permanent that spell becomes has an ability that refers to “cards exiled with [this object],” those abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards exiled to pay the cost of the spell that became that permanent.
607.2q
If a permanent spell has an ability printed on it that allows one or more cards to be exiled while paying a cost to cast it and the permanent that spell becomes has an ability that refers to cards “exiled with [this object],” those abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards exiled to pay the cost of the spell that became that permanent.
609.8
Some effects look back in time and consider previous game states and actions rather than considering the current game state. If such an effect refers to an object or group of objects, those objects don’t need to be currently in the zone they were in at the time of the action, nor do they need to currently meet the criteria described in the action, as long as they did so at the specified time.
700.5a
A player’s devotion to each color and combination of colors, taking into account any effects that modify devotion, is calculated after considering any copy, control, or text–changing effects but before any other effects that modify the characteristics of permanents. This is an exception to 613.10. See also rule 613, “Interaction of Continuous Effects.”
702.103c
If a bestowed Aura spell is copied, the copy is also a bestowed Aura spell. Any rule that refers to a spell cast bestowed applies to the copy as well.
702.103d
As a bestowed Aura spell begins resolving, if its target is illegal, it ceases to be bestowed and the effect making it an Aura spell ends. It continues resolving as a creature spell and will be put onto the battlefield under the control of the spell’s controller. This is an exception to rule 608.3a.
702.103e
As a bestowed Aura spell begins resolving, if its target is illegal, it ceases to be bestowed and the effect making it an Aura spell ends. It continues resolving as a creature spell. This is an exception to rule 608.3a.
702.145a
Daybound and nightbound are found on opposite faces of some transforming double–faced cards (see rule 712, “Double–Faced Cards”).
702.145b
Daybound is found on the front faces of some transforming double–faced cards and represents three static abilities. “Daybound” means “If it is night, this permanent enters the battlefield transformed,” “As it becomes night, if this permanent is front face up, transform it,” and “This permanent can’t be transformed except by its daybound ability.” See rule 724, “Day and Night.”
702.145c
Any time a player controls a permanent that is front face up with daybound and it’s night, that player transforms that permanent. This happens immediately and isn’t a state–based action.
702.145d
Any time a player controls a permanent with daybound, if it’s neither day nor night, it becomes day.
702.145e
Nightbound is found on the back faces of some transforming double–faced cards and represents two static abilities. “Nightbound” means “As it becomes day, if this permanent is back face up, transform it” and “This permanent can’t be transformed except by its nightbound ability.”
702.145f
Any time a player controls a permanent that is back face up with nightbound and it’s day, that player transforms that permanent. This happens immediately and isn’t a state–based action.
702.145g
Any time a player controls a permanent with nightbound, if it’s neither day nor night and there are no permanents with daybound on the battlefield, it becomes night.
702.146a
Disturb is an ability found on the front face of some transforming double–faced cards (see rule 712, “Double–Faced Cards”). “Disturb [cost]” means “You may cast this card transformed from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost.” See rule 712.4b.
702.146b
A resolving transforming double–faced spell that was cast using its disturb ability enters the battlefield with its back face up.
702.147a
Decayed represents a static ability and a triggered ability. “Decayed” means “This creature can’t block” and “When this creature attacks, sacrifice it at end of combat.”
712.1
A double–faced card has a Magic card face on each side rather than a Magic card face on one side and a Magic card back on the other. There are two kinds of double–faced cards. Transforming double–faced cards include abilities on one or both of their faces that allow the card to “transform” (turn over to its other face) or allow the card to enter the battlefield “transformed” (with its back face up). Modal double–faced cards have two faces that are independent from one another and can’t transform.
712.1
A double–faced card has a Magic card face on each side rather than a Magic card face on one side and a Magic card back on the other. There are two kinds of double–faced cards. Transforming double–faced cards include abilities on one or both of their faces that allow the card to “transform” (turn over to its other face) or allow the card to be cast or enter the battlefield “transformed” (with its back face up). Modal double–faced cards have two faces that are independent from one another, and they can’t transform.
712.1a
A transforming double–faced card’s front face is marked by a front–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins® and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a modified Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad™ block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich of the Krallenhorde in the Eldritch Moon™ set, the front–face symbol is a sun. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a full moon. On Ixalan™ and Rivals of Ixalan™ cards, the front–face symbol is a compass rose.
712.1a
A transforming double–faced card’s front face is marked by a front–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins® and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a modified Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad® block, Shadows over Innistrad set, and Innistrad: Midnight Hunt set, as well as on Ulrich of the Krallenhorde in the Eldritch Moon™ set, the front–face symbol is a sun. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a full moon. On Ixalan™ and Rivals of Ixalan™ cards, the front–face symbol is a compass rose.
712.1b
A transforming double–faced card’s back face is marked by a back–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a full Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich, Uncontested Alpha in the Eldritch Moon set, the back–face symbol is a crescent moon. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a stylized image of Emrakul. On Ixalan and Rivals of Ixalan cards, the back–face symbol is a land icon.
712.1b
A transforming double–faced card’s back face is marked by a back–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a full Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad block, Shadows over Innistrad set, and Innistrad: Midnight Hunt set, as well as on Ulrich, Uncontested Alpha in the Eldritch Moon set, the back–face symbol is a crescent moon. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a stylized image of Emrakul. On Ixalan and Rivals of Ixalan cards, the back–face symbol is a land icon.
712.4b
Normally, a transforming double–faced spell has its front face up while on the stack and has only the characteristics of its front face. However, if an effect allows a player to cast a transforming double–faced card “transformed,” the resulting spell will have its back face up and have only the characteristics of its back face. Its mana value is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. A copy of a transforming double–faced spell with its back face up has mana value 0.
712.4b
While a transforming double–faced spell is on the stack or a transforming double–faced permanent has its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
712.4c
While a transforming double–faced permanent has its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
712.7
If a transforming double–faced card is cast as a spell, it’s put on the stack with its front face up. A player casting a modal double–faced card as a spell chooses which face they are casting before putting it onto the stack. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
712.7
If a transforming double–faced card is cast as a spell, it’s put on the stack with its front face up by default. If a transforming double–faced card is cast “transformed,” it’s put on the stack with its back face up. A player casting a modal double–faced card as a spell chooses which face they are casting before putting it onto the stack. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
712.7b
If an ability of a transforming double–faced card’s front face allows it to be cast “transformed,” that ability is also considered when evaluating that spell to determine if it can be cast. This is an exception to 712.7a.
712.9
A resolving transforming double–faced spell is put onto the battlefield front face up. A resolving modal double–faced spell that becomes a permanent is put onto the battlefield with the same face up that was face up on the stack.
712.9
By default, a resolving double–faced spell that becomes a permanent is put onto the battlefield with the same face up that was face up on the stack. Some abilities may cause a transforming double–faced spell with its front face up on the stack to enter the battlefield transformed.
712.16
If a transforming double–faced card would have an “As [this permanent] transforms . . .” ability after it transforms, that ability is applied while that permanent is transforming, not afterward.
724.1
Day and night are designations that the game itself can have. The game starts with neither designation. “It becomes day” and “it becomes night” refer to the game gaining the day or night designation. It can become day or night through the daybound and nightbound keyword abilities (see rule 702.145). Other effects can also make it day or night. Once it has become day or night, the game will have exactly one of those designations from that point forward.
724.1a
The phrases “day becomes night” and “night becomes day” refer to the game losing the first designation and gaining the second one.
724.2
As the second part of the untap step, the game checks the previous turn to see if the game’s day/night designation should change. See rule 502, “Untap Step.”
724.3a
If it’s day and the previous turn’s active player didn’t cast any spells during that turn, it becomes night. Multiplayer games using the shared team turns option (see rule 805) use a modified rule: if it’s day and no player from the previous turn’s active team cast a spell during that turn, it becomes night.
724.3b
If it’s night, and previous turn’s active player cast two or more spells during the previous turn, it becomes day. Multiplayer games using the shared team turns option (see rule 805) use a modified rule: if it’s night and any player from the previous turn’s active team cast two or more spells during that turn, it becomes day.
724.3c
If it’s neither day nor night, this check doesn’t happen and it remains neither.
805.6a
If an effect instructs more than one player to draw cards in a game that’s using the shared team turns option, first each player on the active team, in whatever order that team likes, performs that player’s draws, then each player on each nonactive team in turn order does the same.
805.6a
If more than one player is instructed to draw cards in a game that’s using the shared team turns option, first each player on the active team, in whatever order that team likes, performs that player’s draws, then each player on each nonactive team in turn order does the same.