Ikoria Core Set 2021
101.4e
If multiple players would make choices or take actions while starting the game, the starting player is considered the active player and each other player is considered a nonactive player.
103.2
After the decks have been shuffled, the players determine which one of them will choose who takes the first turn. In the first game of a match (including a single–game match), the players may use any mutually agreeable method (flipping a coin, rolling dice, etc.) to do so. In a match of several games, the loser of the previous game chooses who takes the first turn. If the previous game was a draw, the player who made the choice in that game makes the choice in this game. The player chosen to take the first turn is the starting player. The game’s default turn order begins with the starting player and proceeds clockwise.
103.1
At the start of a game, the players determine which one of them will choose who takes the first turn. In the first game of a match (including a single–game match), the players may use any mutually agreeable method (flipping a coin, rolling dice, etc.) to do so. In a match of several games, the loser of the previous game chooses who takes the first turn. If the previous game was a draw, the player who made the choice in that game makes the choice in this game. The player chosen to take the first turn is the starting player. The game’s default turn order begins with the starting player and proceeds clockwise.
103.2c
One card (Power Play) states that its controller is the starting player. This effect supersedes these methods.
103.1c
One card (Power Play) states that its controller is the starting player. This effect applies after this determination has happened and supersedes these methods.
103.1
At the start of a game, each player shuffles their deck so that the cards are in a random order. Each player may then shuffle or cut their opponents’ decks. The players’ decks become their libraries.
103.2
After the starting player has been determined, each player shuffles their deck so that the cards are in a random order. Each player may then shuffle or cut their opponents’ decks. The players’ decks become their libraries.
103.1b
If a player wishes to reveal a card with a companion ability that they own from outside the game, they may do so after setting aside their sideboard. A player may reveal no more than one card this way, and may do so only if their deck fulfills the condition of that card’s companion ability. (See rule 702.138, “Companion.”)
103.2b
If a player wishes to reveal a card with a companion ability that they own from outside the game, they may do so after setting aside their sideboard. A player may reveal no more than one card this way, and they may do so only if their deck fulfills the condition of that card’s companion ability. (See rule 702.138, “Companion.”)
109.4
Only objects on the stack or on the battlefield have a controller. Objects that are neither on the stack nor on the battlefield aren’t controlled by any player. See rule 108.4. There are five exceptions to this rule:
109.4
Only objects on the stack or on the battlefield have a controller. Objects that are neither on the stack nor on the battlefield aren’t controlled by any player. See rule 108.4. There are six exceptions to this rule:
109.4a
The controller of a mana ability is determined as though it were on the stack. See rule 605, “Mana Abilities.”
116.2
There are eight special actions:
116.2
There are nine special actions:
120.4a
First, if an effect is causing damage to be dealt to a creature and that effect specifies that excess damage is dealt to another object or player instead, the damage event is modified to deal damage accordingly. Excess damage is damage greater than the creature’s toughness, taking into account damage marked on that creature and other damage being dealt to it at the same time as this damage. Any damage greater than 1 is excess damage if the source dealing that damage has deathtouch.
120.4a
First, if an effect is causing damage to be dealt to a creature and that effect specifies that excess damage is dealt to another object or player instead, the damage event is modified to deal damage accordingly. Excess damage is damage greater than lethal damage that would be dealt to a creature. Lethal damage is the creature’s toughness minus damage marked on that creature and other damage being dealt to it at the same time as this damage. Any damage greater than 1 is excess damage if the source dealing that damage has deathtouch.
205.3j
Planeswalkers have their own unique set of subtypes; these subtypes are called planeswalker types.
No planeswalker types were removed in this update.
205.3j
Planeswalkers have their own unique set of subtypes; these subtypes are called planeswalker types.
The new planeswalker types this set are: Basri
(Click the rule number to see the full list of planeswalker types.)
205.3m
Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types.
The old creature types this set are: Hound
205.3m
Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types.
The new creature types this set are: Dog
(Click the rule number to see the full list of creature types.)
603.2d
An ability may state that a triggered ability triggers additional times. In this case, rather than simply determining that such an ability has triggered, determine how many times it should trigger, then that ability triggers that many times. An effect that states that an ability triggers additional times doesn’t invoke itself repeatedly and doesn’t apply to other effects that affect how many times an ability triggers.
607.3
If, within a pair of linked abilities, one ability refers to a single object as “the exiled card,” “a card exiled with [this card],” or a similar phrase, and the other ability has exiled multiple cards (usually because it was copied), the ability refers to each of the exiled cards. If that ability asks for any information about the exiled card, such as a characteristic or converted mana cost, it gets multiple answers. If these answers are used to determine the value of a variable, the sum of the answers is used. If that ability performs any actions on the exiled card, it performs that action on each exiled card.
607.3
If, within a pair of linked abilities, one ability refers to a single object as “the exiled card,” “a card exiled with [this card],” or a similar phrase, and the other ability has exiled multiple cards (usually because it was copied), the ability refers to each of the exiled cards. If that ability asks for any information about the exiled card, such as a characteristic or converted mana cost, it gets multiple answers. If these answers are used to determine the value of a variable, the sum of the answers is used. If that ability performs any actions on “the” card, it performs that action on each exiled card. If that ability performs any actions on “a” card, the controller of the ability chooses which card is affected.
610.3a
If the specified event has already occurred when the initial one–shot effect would cause the object to change zones, the object doesn’t move.
610.3a
If a resolving spell or activated ability creates the initial one–shot effect that causes the object to change zones, and the specified event has already occurred before that one–shot effect would occur but after that spell or ability was put onto the stack, the object doesn’t move.
610.3b
If a resolving triggered ability creates the initial one–shot effect that causes the object to change zones, and the specified event has already occurred before that one–shot effect would occur but after that ability triggered, the object doesn’t move.
613.2a
Layer 1a: Copiable effects are applied. This includes copy effects (see rule 706, “Copying Objects”) and changes to an object’s base characteristics determined by merging an object with a permanent (see rule 721, “Merging with Permanents”).
613.2a
Layer 1a: Copiable effects are applied. This includes copy effects (see rule 706, “Copying Objects”) and changes to an object’s base characteristics determined by merging an object with a permanent (see rule 721, “Merging with Permanents”). “As . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities generate copiable effects if they set power and toughness, even if they also define other characteristics.
613.7g
A double–faced permanent receives a new timestamp each it transforms.
613.7g
A double–faced permanent receives a new timestamp each time it transforms.
701.13a
For a player to mill a number of cards, that player puts that many cards from the top of their library into their graveyard.
701.13b
A player can’t mill a number of cards greater than the number of cards in their library. If given the choice to do so, they can’t choose to take that action. If instructed to do so, they mill as many as possible. Similarly, the player can’t pay a cost that includes milling a number of cards greater than the number of cards in their library.
701.13c
An effect that refers to the “milled card” can find that card in the zone it moved to from the library, as long as that zone is a public zone.
701.13d
If an ability checks information about a single milled card but more than one card was milled, that ability refers to each of the milled cards. If that ability asks for any information about the milled card, such as a characteristic or converted mana cost, it gets multiple answers. If these answers are used to determine the value of a variable, the sum of the answers is used. If that ability performs any actions on “the” card, it performs that action on each milled card. If that ability performs any actions on “a” card, the controller of the ability chooses which card is affected.
701.20g
If an effect would cause a player to shuffle a library at the same time that an object would be put into a certain position in that library, the result is a shuffled library that’s randomized except that the object is in the specified position.
702.51a
Dredge is a static ability that functions only while the card with dredge is in a player’s graveyard. “Dredge N” means “As long as you have at least N cards in your library, if you would draw a card, you may instead put N cards from the top of your library into your graveyard and return this card from your graveyard to your hand.”
702.51a
Dredge is a static ability that functions only while the card with dredge is in a player’s graveyard. “Dredge N” means “As long as you have at least N cards in your library, if you would draw a card, you may instead mill N cards and return this card from your graveyard to your hand.”
702.51b
A player with fewer cards in their library than the number required by a dredge ability can’t put any of them into their graveyard this way.
702.51b
A player with fewer cards in their library than the number required by a dredge ability can’t mill any of them this way.
704.6
Some variant games include additional state–based actions that aren’t normally applicable:
704.6d
In a Commander game, if a commander is in a graveyard or in exile and that card was put into that zone since the last time state–based actions were checked, its owner may put it into the command zone. See rule 903, “Commander.”
707.9
If a face–down permanent moves from the battlefield to any other zone, its owner must reveal it to all players as they move it. If a face–down spell moves from the stack to any zone other than the battlefield, its owner must reveal it to all players as they move it. If a player leaves the game, all face–down permanents and spells owned by that player must be revealed to all players. At the end of each game, all face–down permanents and spells must be revealed to all players.
707.9
If a face–down permanent or a face–down component of a merged permanent moves from the battlefield to any other zone, its owner must reveal it to all players as they move it. If a face–down spell moves from the stack to any zone other than the battlefield, its owner must reveal it to all players as they move it. If a player leaves the game, all face–down permanents, face–down components of merged permanents, and face–down spells owned by that player must be revealed to all players. At the end of each game, all face–down permanents, face–down components of merged permanents, and face–down spells must be revealed to all players.
714.2a
A chapter symbol includes a Roman numeral, indicated here as “{rN}.” The numeral I represents 1, II represents 2, and III represents 3.
714.2a
A chapter symbol includes a Roman numeral, indicated here as “{rN}.” The numeral I represents 1, II represents 2, III represents 3, and so on.
721.3d
If multiple replacement effects could be applied to the event of a merged permanent leaving the battlefield or being put into the new zone, applying one of those replacement effects to one of the objects affects all of the objects. If the merged permanent is a commander, it may be exempt from this rule; see rule 903.9a.
721.3d
If multiple replacement effects could be applied to the event of a merged permanent leaving the battlefield or being put into the new zone, applying one of those replacement effects to the object applies it to all components of the object. If the merged permanent is a commander, it may be exempt from this rule; see rule 903.9a.
721.3e
If a replacement effect applies to a “card” being put into a zone without also including tokens, that effect applies to all components of the merged permanent if it’s not a token, including components that are tokens. If the merged permanent is a token but some of its components are cards, the merged permanent and its token components are put into the appropriate zone, and the components that are cards are moved by the replacement effect.
903.3d
If an effect refers to controlling a commander, it refers to a permanent on the battlefield that is a commander. If an effect refers to casting a commander, it refers to a spell that is a commander. If an effect refers to a commander in a specific zone, it refers to a card in that zone that is a commander.
903.9
A commander may return to the command zone during a Commander game.
903.9a
If a commander is in a graveyard or in exile and that card was put into that zone since the last time state–based actions were checked, its owner may put it into the command zone. This is a state–based action. See rule 704.
903.9
If a commander would be exiled from anywhere or put into its owner’s hand, graveyard, or library from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead. This replacement effect may apply more than once to the same event. This is an exception to rule 614.5.
903.9b
If a commander would be put into its owner’s hand or library from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead. This replacement effect may apply more than once to the same event. This is an exception to rule 614.5.
903.9a
If a commander is a melded permanent or a merged permanent and its owner chooses to put it into the command zone this way, that permanent and each component representing it that isn’t a commander are put into the appropriate zone, and the card that represents it and is a commander is put into the command zone.
903.9c
If a commander is a melded permanent or a merged permanent and its owner chooses to put it into the command zone using the replacement effect described in rule 903.9b, that permanent and each component representing it that isn’t a commander are put into the appropriate zone, and the card that represents it and is a commander is put into the command zone.