Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty Streets of New Capenna
100.2a
In constructed play (a way of playing in which each player creates their own deck ahead of time), each deck has a minimum deck size of 60 cards. A constructed deck may contain any number of basic land cards and no more than four of any card with a particular English name other than basic land cards.
100.2a
In constructed play (a way of playing in which each player creates their own deck ahead of time), each deck has a minimum deck size of 60 cards. A constructed deck may contain any number of basic land cards and no more than four of any card with a particular English name other than basic land cards. For the purposes of deck construction, cards with interchangeable names have the same English name (see rule 201.3).
122.1c
A shield counter on a permanent creates one replacement effect and one prevention effect that protect the permanent. These effects are “If this permanent would be destroyed as the result of an effect, instead remove a shield counter from it” and “If damage would be dealt to this permanent, prevent that damage and remove a shield counter from it.” See rule 614, “Replacement Effects,” and rule 615, “Prevention Effects.”
201.3
Some cards with different English names are treated as though they had the same English name. Pairs of cards with this property have names that are interchangeable.
201.3a
For the purposes of all rules, abilities, and effects that refer to a card’s name, objects with interchangeable names have the same name. (See rules 201.2a–b.)
201.3b
For the purposes of deck construction and format legality, cards with interchangeable names have the same name.
201.3c
If a card has later printings with interchangeable names, the later printings will have an interchangeable names indicator in the bottom left–hand corner referring to the original printing’s three–letter set code and collector number (see rule 212.1d).
201.4g
Some cards have interchangeable names (see rule 201.3). For all game purposes, these cards have the same name. If a player chooses the name of a card which has interchangeable names, the name of each of those cards has been chosen.
201.5
Promotional or alternate–art versions of some cards feature a secondary title bar below the name line. The card’s name as listed in the Oracle card reference is displayed in the secondary title bar, and an alternate name appears in the upper left corner. For the purposes of deck construction, game rules, and effects, these cards have only the card name specified in the secondary title bar. The alternate name is considered flavor text and has no effect on game play.
201.6
Promotional or alternate–art versions of some cards feature a secondary title bar below the name line. The card’s name as listed in the Oracle card reference is displayed in the secondary title bar, and an alternate name appears in the upper left corner. For the purposes of deck construction, game rules, and effects, these cards have only the card name specified in the secondary title bar. Rules text may also refer to a card’s alternate name; instances of the alternate name that are present in rules text refer to the name specified in the secondary title bar. The alternate name has no effect on game play.
205.3m
Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types.
No creature types were removed in this update.
205.3m
Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types.
The new creature types this set are: Raccoon
(Click the rule number to see the full list of creature types.)
207.2c
An ability word appears in italics at the beginning of some abilities. Ability words are similar to keywords in that they tie together cards that have similar functionality, but they have no special rules meaning and no individual entries in the Comprehensive Rules.
No ability words were removed in this update.
207.2c
An ability word appears in italics at the beginning of some abilities. Ability words are similar to keywords in that they tie together cards that have similar functionality, but they have no special rules meaning and no individual entries in the Comprehensive Rules.
The new ability words this set are: alliance
(Click the rule number to see the full list of ability words.)
208.4
Some effects refer to a creature’s “base power,” “base toughness,” or “base power and toughness.”
208.4
Effects that set a creature’s power and/or toughness to specific values may refer to that creature’s “base power,” “base toughness,” or “base power and toughness.” Other continuous effects may further modify the creature’s power and toughness. See rule 613, “Interaction of Continuous Effects.”
208.4a
Effects that set a creature’s power and/or toughness to specific values may refer to base power and/or toughness. Other continuous effects may further modify the creature’s power and toughness. See rule 613, “Interaction of Continuous Effects.”
208.4b
Some effects check a creature’s base power and/or toughness. These effects see that creature’s characteristics after applying any characteristic–defining abilities and abilities that set power and/or toughness, ignoring any effects and counters that modify power and/or toughness without setting them. See rule 613, “Interaction of Continuous Effects.”
209.1
Each planeswalker card has a loyalty number printed in its lower right corner. This indicates its loyalty while it’s not on the battlefield, and it also indicates that the planeswalker enters the battlefield with that many loyalty counters on it.
209.1
Each planeswalker card has a loyalty number printed in its lower right corner. This indicates its loyalty while it’s not on the battlefield, and it also indicates that the planeswalker enters the battlefield with that many loyalty counters on it (see rule 306.5b).
212.1d
Some cards with interchangeable names include information about a specific version of a card with that interchangeable name. See rule 201.3.
601.2e
The game checks to see if the proposed spell can legally be cast. If the proposed spell is illegal, the game returns to the moment before the casting of that spell was proposed (see rule 726, “Handling Illegal Actions”).
601.2e
The game checks to see if proposed spell can legally be cast. If the proposed spell is illegal, the game returns to the moment before the casting of that spell was proposed (see rule 726, “Handling Illegal Actions”).
601.4a
Once a player has begun casting a spell that had flash because certain conditions were met or that could be cast as though it had flash because certain conditions were met (see 601.3d), they may continue to cast that spell as though it had flash even if those conditions stop being met.
612.7
One card (Awakening of Vitu–Ghazi) creates a continuous effect that sets the name of an object. This changes the text that represents the object’s name. That object loses any names it had and has only the specified name.
612.7
Some cards create a continuous effect that sets the name of an object. This changes the text that represents the object’s name. That object loses any names it had and has only the specified name.
701.47a
Certain abilities instruct a permanent to connive. To do so, that permanent’s controller draws a card, then discards a card. If a nonland card is discarded this way, that player puts a +1/+1 counter on the conniving permanent.
701.47b
A permanent “connives” after the process described in rule 701.47a is complete, even if some or all of those actions were impossible.
701.47c
If a permanent changes zones before an effect causes it to connive, its last known information is used to determine which object connived and who controlled it.
701.47d
If multiple permanents are instructed to connive at the same time, the first player in APNAP order who controls one or more of those permanents chooses one of them and it connives. Then if any permanents remain on the battlefield which have been instructed to connive and have not done so, this process is repeated.
701.47e
Connive N is a variant of connive. The permanent’s controller draws N cards, discards N cards, then puts a number of +1/+1 counters on the permanent equal to the number of nonland cards discarded this way.
702.6e
“Equip planeswalker” is a variant of the equip ability. “Equip planeswalker [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target planeswalker you control as though that planeswalker were a creature. Activate only as a sorcery.”
702.75a
Hideaway represents a static ability and a triggered ability. “Hideaway” means “This permanent enters the battlefield tapped” and “When this permanent enters the battlefield, look at the top four cards of your library. Exile one of them face down and put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order. The exiled card gains ‘Any player who has controlled the permanent that exiled this card may look at this card in the exile zone.’”
702.75a
Hideaway is a triggered ability. “Hideaway N” means “When this permanent enters the battlefield, look at the top N cards of your library. Exile one of them face down and put the rest on the bottom of your library in a random order. The exiled card gains ‘The player who controls the permanent that exiled this card may look at this card in the exile zone.’”
702.75b
Previously, the rules for the hideaway ability caused the permanent to enter the battlefield tapped, and the number of cards the player looked at was fixed at four. Cards printed before this rules change had the printed text “Hideaway” with no numeral after the word. Those older cards have received errata in the Oracle card reference to have “Hideaway 4” and the additional ability “[This permanent] enters the battlefield tapped.”
702.124g
Friends forever is a variant of the partner ability. Friends forever modifies the rules for deck construction in the Commander variant, and it functions before the game begins. Rather than a single legendary creature card, you may designate two legendary creature cards as your commander if each has friends forever.
702.138c
An ability that reads “[This permanent] escapes with . . .” means “If this permanent escaped, it enters the battlefield with . . .” That ability may have a triggered ability linked to it that triggers “When it enters the battlefield this way.” (See rule 603.11.) Such a triggered ability triggers when that permanent enters the battlefield after its replacement effect was applied, even if that replacement effect had no effect.
702.138c
An ability that reads “[This permanent] escapes with [one or more of a kind of counter]” means “If this permanent escaped, it enters the battlefield with [those counters]” That ability may have a triggered ability linked to it that triggers “When it enters the battlefield this way.” (See rule 603.11.) Such a triggered ability triggers when that permanent enters the battlefield after its replacement effect was applied, even if that replacement effect had no effect.
702.138d
An ability that reads “[This permanent] escapes with [ability]” means “If this permanent escaped, it has [ability].”
702.152a
Blitz represents three abilities: two static abilities that function while the card with blitz is on the stack, one of which may create a delayed triggered ability, and a static ability that functions while the object with blitz is on the battlefield. “Blitz [cost]” means “You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost,” “If this spell’s blitz cost was paid, sacrifice the permanent this spell becomes at the beginning of the next end step,” and “As long as this permanent’s blitz cost was paid, it has haste and ‘When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, draw a card.’” Casting a spell for its blitz cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
702.153a
Casualty is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the spell with casualty is on the stack. The second is a triggered ability that functions while the spell with casualty is on the stack. Casualty N means “As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may sacrifice a creature with power N or greater,” and “When you cast this spell, if a casualty cost was paid for it, copy it. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for the copy.” Paying a spell’s casualty cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
702.153b
If a spell has multiple instances of casualty, each is paid separately and triggers based on the payments made for it, not any other instance of casualty.
903.5b
Other than basic lands, each card in a Commander deck must have a different English name.
903.5b
Other than basic lands, each card in a Commander deck must have a different English name. For the purposes of deck construction, cards with interchangeable names have the same English name (see rule 201.3).