Ravnica Allegiance War of the Spark
101.4c
If a player would make more than one choice at the same time, the player makes the choices in the order specified. If no order is specified, they player chooses the order.
101.4c
If a player would make more than one choice at the same time, the player makes the choices in the order specified. If no order is specified, the player chooses the order.
105.5.
If an effect refers to a color pair, it means exactly two of the five colors. There are ten color pairs: white and blue, white and black, blue and black, blue and red, black and red, black and green, red and green, red and white, green and white, and green and blue.
114.9a
An object that looks for a “[spell or ability] with a single target” checks the number of times any objects or players became the target of that spell or ability when it was put on the stack, not the number of its targets that are currently legal. If the same object or player became a target more than once, each of those instances is counted separately.
114.9a
An object that looks for a “[spell or ability] with a single target” checks the number of times any object or player was chosen as the target of that spell or ability when it was put on the stack, not the number of its targets that are currently legal. If the same object or player became a target more than once, each of those instances is counted separately.
114.9c
An object that looks for a “[spell or ability] that targets only [something]” checks the number of different objects or players that became the target of that spell or ability when it was put on the stack (as modified by effects that changed those targets), not the number of those objects or players that are currently legal targets. If that number is one (even if the spell or ability targets that object or player multiple times), the current state of that spell or ability’s target is checked as described in rule 114.9b.
114.9c
An object that looks for a “[spell or ability] that targets only [something]” checks the number of different objects or players that were chosen as targets of that spell or ability when it was put on the stack (as modified by effects that changed those targets), not the number of those objects or players that are currently legal targets. If that number is one (even if the spell or ability targets that object or player multiple times), the current state of that spell or ability’s target is checked as described in rule 114.9b.
117.9b
Alternative costs are always optional.
117.9b
Alternative costs are generally optional. An effect that allows you to cast a spell may require a certain alternative cost to be paid.
120.2d
If an effect instructs more than one player to draw cards in a game that’s using the shared team turns option (such as a Two–Headed Giant game), first each player on the active team, in whatever order that team likes, performs their draws, then each player on each nonactive team in turn order does the same.
120.2d
If a rule or effect instructs more than one player to draw cards in a game that’s using the shared team turns option (such as a Two–Headed Giant game), first each player on the active team, in whatever order that team likes, performs their draws, then each player on each nonactive team in turn order does the same.
120.9.
If an effect gives a player the option to reveal a card as they draw it, that player may look at that card as they draw it before choosing whether to reveal it.
121.5.
If an effect says to “move” a counter, it means to take that counter from the object it’s currently on and put it onto a second object. If the first and second objects are the same object, nothing happens. If the first object has no counters, nothing happens; the second object doesn’t get a counter put on it. If the second object (or any possible second objects) is no longer in the correct zone when the effect would move the counter, nothing happens; a counter isn’t removed from the first object.
121.5.
If an effect says to “move” a counter, it means to remove that counter from the object it’s currently on and put it onto a second object. If either of these actions isn’t possible, it’s not possible to move a counter, and no counter is removed from or put onto anything. This may occur if the first and second objects are the same object; if the first object doesn’t have the appropriate kind of counter on it; if the second object can’t have counters put onto it; or if either object is no longer in the correct zone.
205.3j
Planeswalkers have their own unique set of subtypes; these subtypes are called planeswalker types.
No planeswalker types were removed in this update
205.3j
Planeswalkers have their own unique set of subtypes; these subtypes are called planeswalker types.
The new planeswalker types this set are: Davriel, Teyo
(Click the rule number to see the full list of planeswalker types.)
205.3m
Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types.
No creature types were removed in this update
205.3m
Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types.
The new creature types this set are: Army
(Click the rule number to see the full list of creature types.)
603.7b
A delayed triggered ability will trigger only once–the next time its trigger event occurs–unless it has a stated duration, such as “this turn.”
603.7b
A delayed triggered ability will trigger only once–the next time its trigger event occurs–unless it has a stated duration, such as “this turn.” If its trigger event occurs more than once simultaneously and the ability doesn’t have a stated duration, the controller of the delayed triggered ability chooses which event causes the ability to trigger.
612.7.
One card (Awakening of Vitu–Ghazi) creates a continuous effect that sets the name of an object. This changes the text that represents the object’s name. That object loses any names it had and has only the specified name.
701.15a
To reveal a card, show that card to all players for a brief time. If an effect causes a card to be revealed, it remains revealed for as long as necessary to complete the parts of the effect that card is relevant to. If the cost to cast a spell or activate an ability includes revealing a card, the card remains revealed from the time the spell or ability is announced until the time it leaves the stack.
701.15a
To reveal a card, show that card to all players for a brief time. If an effect causes a card to be revealed, it remains revealed for as long as necessary to complete the parts of the effect that card is relevant to. If the cost to cast a spell or activate an ability includes revealing a card, the card remains revealed from the time the spell or ability is announced until the time it leaves the stack. If revealing a card causes a triggered ability to trigger, the card remains revealed until that triggered ability leaves the stack. If that ability isn’t put onto the stack the next time a player would receive priority, the card ceases to be revealed.
701.26a
To proliferate means to choose any number of permanents and/or players that have a counter, then give each exactly one additional counter of a kind that permanent or player already has.
701.26a
To proliferate means to choose any number of permanents and/or players that have a counter, then give each one additional counter of each kind that permanent or player already has.
701.26c
In a Two–Headed Giant game, poison counters are shared by the team. If more than one player on a team is chosen this way, only one of those players can be given an additional poison counter. See rule 810, “Two–Headed Giant Variant.”
701.26b
In a Two–Headed Giant game, poison counters are shared by the team. If more than one player on a team is chosen this way, only one of those players can be given an additional poison counter. The player who proliferates chooses which player that is. See rule 810, “Two–Headed Giant Variant.”
701.43a
To amass N means “If you don’t control an Army creature, create a 0/0 black Zombie Army creature token. Choose an Army creature you control. Put N +1/+1 counters on that creature.”
701.43b
The phrase “the [subtype] you amassed” refers to the creature you chose, whether or not it received counters.
702.93b
If a player chooses to reveal a card using its miracle ability, they play with that card revealed until that card leaves their hand, that ability resolves, or that ability otherwise leaves the stack.
702.93b
If a player chooses to reveal a card using its miracle ability, they play with that card revealed until that card leaves their hand, that ability resolves, or that ability otherwise leaves the stack. (See rule 701.15a.)
711.1a
A double–faced card’s front face is marked by a front–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins® and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a modified Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad™ block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich of the Krallenhorde in the Eldritch Moon™ set, the front–face symbol is a sun. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a full moon. On Ixalan™ cards, the front–face symbol is a compass rose.
711.1a
A double–faced card’s front face is marked by a front–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins® and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a modified Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad™ block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich of the Krallenhorde in the Eldritch Moon™ set, the front–face symbol is a sun. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the front–face symbol is a full moon. On Ixalan™ and Rivals of Ixalan™ cards, the front–face symbol is a compass rose.
711.1b
A double–faced card’s back face is marked by a back–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a full Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich, Uncontested Alpha in the Eldritch Moon set, the back–face symbol is a crescent moon. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a stylized image of Emrakul. On Ixalan cards, the back–face symbol is a land icon.
711.1b
A double–faced card’s back face is marked by a back–face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins and Core Set 2019 double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a full Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich, Uncontested Alpha in the Eldritch Moon set, the back–face symbol is a crescent moon. On other Eldritch Moon double–faced cards, the back–face symbol is a stylized image of Emrakul. On Ixalan and Rivals of Ixalan cards, the back–face symbol is a land icon.